Directors

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Philipp Ther
Director
Social and economic history of Europe and global transformations since the late 1980s. Founder of RECET with his Wittgenstein Prize. At the moment he guides two comparative research projects on shipyards in eastern Europe and on volunteerism before and after 1989.
Contact: philipp.ther@univie.ac.at

apl. Prof. Dr. Jannis Panagiotidis
Scientific Director
Migration history, Transnational and Comparative history.
He currently works on a project entitled “Liberal Global Orders and Freedom of Movement.” He also guides a research project on post-Soviet immigrant communities in Germany.
Contact: jannis.panagiotidis@univie.ac.at

© Barbara Mair

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Claudia Kraft
Co-Director
Gender history and history of everyday life in state socialist societies after World War II, postcolonial perspectives on post-socialism. She directs a German-Polish research project (DFG/NCN) about “Rooms for Manoeuvre in State Socialism”, which investigates forms of historical agency in East Central Europe before and after 1989.
Contact: claudia.kraft@univie.ac.at

Irena Remestwenski, M.A.
Managing Director
Responsible for general administration, project finances, office management, and public relations at RECET.
Dissertation project “Borderland Blues: Integration offers on the eve of the Maidan Revolution and historical narratives that sustained them”.
Contact: irena.remestwenski@univie.ac.at

Senior Researchers and Board Members

Dr. János Mátyás Kovács
Economic Collectivism: Old and New. Lessons from the Communist and Post-Communist Experience.
Contact: janos.kovacs@univie.ac.at

Researchers

MMag. Dr. Magdalena Baran-Szołtys
"Stories Of/In Transformation. Literary Narratives of Transformation and Inequality in Post-Socialist Poland".
Contact: magdalena.baran@univie.ac.at

Lukas Becht, M.A.
"From 'perspective planning' to 'strategic adjustment'. Polish Future Research in the transformation from state-socialism to market economy, 1980-2000".
Contact: lukas.becht@univie.ac.at

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter Becker
"Transforming statehood in the Habsburg monarchy and its successor states".
Contact: peter.becker@univie.ac.at

Andreas Enderlin-Mahr, M.A.
"Informal ways to the Emperor’s Desk – governance networks, political practice and culture in the 19th century" (part of the FWF-Project „The Emperor’s Desk: A Site of Policy Making“).
Contact: andreas.enderlin@univie.ac.at

Ilona Grabmaier, M.A.
"Stayed at home. Reconfiguring care of/for men, children and senior citizens in rural Ukraine".
Contact: ilona.grabmaier@univie.ac.at

Dr. Rosamund Johnston
"Comrades in Arms: A Global History of Czechoslovakia's Weapons Industry, 1954-1994".
Contact: johnstonr20@univie.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Matthias Kaltenbrunner
"Cars for the East: The (Il)legal Car Market in Poland, 1980-1990s".
Contact: matthias.kaltenbrunner@univie.ac.at

Dr. Thuc Linh Nguyen Vu
"Strange but Familiar: The Global Microhistory of Contacts between Poland and Vietnam (1955-1989)"
Contact: linh.nguyen-vu@univie.ac.at

Dr. Agnieszka Pasieka
"Transnational nationalism. Far-Right Nationalist Groups in East Central Europe in the 20th and 21st centuries".
Contact: agnieszka.pasieka@univie.ac.at

Dr. Sheng Peng
"Making a New World? China and the end of the European Cold War, 1979-1991".
Contact: sheng.peng@univie.ac.at

MMMag. Dominik Stegmayer
"Transformation in Eastern Germany on the Example of VEB Werk für Fernsehelektronik" (working title)
Contact: dominik.stegmayer@univie.ac.at

Dr. Lars Fredrik Stöcker
"A Historical Reassessment of Economic Reforms at the Soviet Union’s Western Fringes, 1987–1991".
Contact: lars.fredrik.stoecker@univie.ac.at

Mojmír Stránský, M.A.
"Volunteering in Local Communities between Late Socialism and Liberal Capitalism: The History of Volunteer Fire Departments in Germany and East Central Europe, 1980-2000".
Contact: mojmir.stransky@univie.ac.at

Dr. Dean Vuletic
"Intervision: Popular Music and Politics in Eastern Europe".
Contact: dean.vuletic@univie.ac.at

Mag. Peter Wegenschimmel
"Trucking Europe: The Triple Transformation of European Freight Companies since the 1980s."
Contact: peter.wegenschimmel@univie.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Stephanie Weismann
"The Smellscapes of Lublin. An Olfactory Urban History of the 20th Century in East Central Europe".
Contact: stephanie.weismann@univie.ac.at

Dr. Agata Zysiak, M.A.
"State-socialist Citizenship and its Collapse in Poland. Rewriting Postwar History from Below"
Contact: agataz20@univie.ac.at

Accociated researchers

Dr. Jelena Đureinović
"The Return of National Pride: Competitive Authoritarianism and Transformations of Postsocialist Memory Politics".
Contact: jelena.dureinovic@univie.ac.at 

Piotr Filipkowski, PhD
"Transformations from Below: Shipyards and Labour Relations in the Uljanik (Croatia) and Gdynia (Poland) since the 1980s".
Contact: piotr.filipkowski@univie.ac.at

Visiting Professor Rinna Kullaa
"Russia and the Great Powers across the Mediterranean 1945-2015".
Contact: rinna.kullaa@univie.ac.at